Book Review: Who Needs Men Anyway? By Victoria Cooke

Things have been a bit quieter this week as we are FINALLY getting around to decorating our living room. When I say FINALLY in capitals that is because we have been in our house since 2007 and this is the first time we have gotten round to decorating this room, BYE MAGNOLIA *shudders*. It has taken us so long because of a mixture of finances (there is always something else that requires any funds we save up), time and how disruptive it is having the most used room in the house (apart from the kitchen)unplugged (the kids are not coping with this) and all the furniture and stuff removed. Anyway, we are cracking on and I’m very excited to be having it finally personalised. However, I’ve run out of paint, so here I am with a spare hour to type up a book review from a fabulous book I finished at the weekend, hope you enjoy it!

cover131924-medium

The Blurb:

Don’t get mad, get even…

Thirty-something Charlotte’s Emsworth’s life is a sickeningly perfect round of charity events, hot yoga, and romantic gestures for sexy lawyer husband James. But, patiently waiting to get pregnant, Charlotte is bored. And when she’s bored, she has a tendency to meddle…

First, it’s her personal trainer Megan’s cheating fiancé, then the gardener Sam’s wife’s ‘late nights at the office’. But soon the meddling, however well-intentioned, lands Charlotte in way over her head, and all the time spent ‘managing’ other people’s lives makes her blind to the cracks appearing in her own…

Getting even is one thing, but what about getting happy?

Perfect for fans of The First Wives Club

Ebook will be published 2nd April 2018 by HQ Digital

More information here

 

My Thoughts:

Well this book saved my mojo! It’s rare I do not persevere with a book, especially a review copy, but I had not one but two titles I DNF’d on last week because I just couldn’t get in to them well and the one before those I didn’t connect well with so I was feeling a barrow of meh and needed uplifting fiction STAT! Thankfully, along came Victoria Cooke and I finally could relax in to an entertaining, addictive narrative that provided all the long-lost feels and character connection I’d been craving.

This is a book about friendships above all else; despite the title maybe leading some to think it’s about “man-hating” actually it is far from this, there are plenty of loveable male characters within this story though it definitely has “independent woman” punch the air moments.

Charlotte, initially, is a bit of a marmite character; comfortable, rich, happily married to James, the smugness kind of oozes out of her and I could see her assumptions and meddling would grate on many people. Of course, life isn’t all it seems and as events unfold you soon bond with Charlotte’s good intentions, kind heart and indeed how lonely she is from the superficial personal connections she has. Yes, she makes mistakes, huge ones, and yet that made her genuine, real and loveable to me. After all, we are all winging it from one lucky break to grave mistake aren’t we?

There are some fantastic varied characters in this story (many of whom I would love to read more about their own back stories) who all contribute comic moments, plot growth, feel good factor and a heartfelt connection. Some characters definitely redeem themselves along the story and others remain villainous, but we all unite to plot their downfall. As it should be! I particularly loved Andrew, and the girl with pigtails, and then Charlotte’s best friend Kate, who is sassy, confident, and very Samantha-from-SATC-esque; most entertaining.

This is a story about Getting Even vs Moving On. How we strive to find true friendships amongst the fake, the true meaning of life amongst materialism and ambition, and the pitfalls of dating, relationships, friendships and careers.

A good book for getting your feel-good mojo back!

Bee Rating : 4 out of 5 bees

 

Advertisements

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Who Needs Men Anyway? By Victoria Cooke

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s