Book Review: Reach For The Stars by Colleen Coleman

51ew+V0fYAL

Reach For The Stars by Colleen Coleman

The Blurb:

When Evelyn Dooley married her high-school sweetheart, James, she thought she was set for life. Now she’s twenty-eight, single, and fleeing to Dublin from her hometown to avoid the gossip surrounding their break-up. And all because of a test-your-relationship board game.

This was not in her five-year plan.

Then a chance encounter with gorgeous musician Danny leads to an unlikely friendship, and soon the pair are running music nights together in one of the oldest pubs in Dublin. For the first time Evelyn is following her dreams rather than someone else’s – and sparks are beginning to fly between her and Danny…

But when her savings run out and home beckons, Evelyn has to choose. The safe, comfortable life she left behind, or a new adventure with Danny? Will Evelyn flee back to the familiarity of her ex, or reach for the stars and take a leap into the unknown?

A laugh-out-loud, feel-good story of friendship, second chances, and romance, perfect for fans of Mhairi McFarlane, Lindsey Kelk and Marian Keyes.

Kindle edition published 21st September 2017 by Bookoutre

My Thoughts:

I really loved Colleen’s debut novel “Don’t Stop Me Now” with it’s funny, kick-ass, fearless approach to life changes and taking chances, so I had high hopes for more of this with her second novel “Reach For The Stars” and I can gladly report I was not disappointed one bit. This novel is every bit as fun and adorable, with loveable characters who really get under your skin and a feelgood vibe.

Evelyn’s escape, against all advice, from her small village to Dublin is fraught with setbacks, however when nothing seems to be going to plan there forms the seeds of a possible future that she realises is what she craves more than anything. Can she navigate the insurmountable challenges and seize happiness?

Set in Ireland, I adored how you got such a sense of the character and variety of the country; from the quiet village where everyone knows your business to the crowded bustle of the capital. There was no shying away from hard issues too, especially homelessness and loss, the way that anyone can be displaced, lost, struggling. It really made me feel grateful for the stability and comfort that I have at home, at a time when I was getting fed up of the endless DIY list; that’s the beauty of books like Colleen’s, they’re relatable and real, with plenty of positive, life-affirming stories.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s